Local News

Club History

Lotto Results

Photo Gallery

Team Profiles

Team Fixtures

Match Reports

Underage Football

Club History

Forbairt Páirce Peile Dhoire Fhionáin



The home of the Derrynane GAA club is in the town land of Ballycarnahan on the eastern side of the village of Caherdaniel visible from the Ring of Kerry. It was bought from the Parish of Caherdaniel in the early 1990’s and development of the site is ongoing since then. To date the complex includes a natural playing surface of very high quality. There is a river on either side of the pitch that drains any excess water from the pitch quickly. The club house includes two dressing rooms, a meeting room and a Referees room. There is a fully tarmaced car park at the site and we have hosted many district league and championship games over the years. The next proposed stage of development is to erect a new flood light system to allow us to train under a quality lighting system in the winter months. Details of this are on our homepage.


The field committee is chaired by James White and includes most of the officers of the club.


The first game was played in 1992 in a South Kerry League game against Renard which Derrynane won. This day represented a marked achievement for the club as there was a great community effort involved in the preparation of the field. Teams of people, young and old spent many hours picking stones from the playing surface before it was seeded as you can see in the picture to the left. Pictured right is the team that lined out on that day and there are many familiar faces in the picture, players and supporters alike.



Hall of Fame

The Club have been presenting a Hall of Fame award to members who have given outstanding service to the club.  Recipents are as follows:

  • Paddy O Donoghue, Rath.
  • Johnny Sheehan.
  • Jimmy Teahan, Loher.
  • Pakie Doyle.
  • Batty Connell.
  • Jim Murphy, Staigue.
  • Seán Eugene O Sullivan, Bracaragh.
  • Jim Dwyer, Caherdaniel West.
  • Dan MacGillicuddy, Baslicon.
  • Florrence Donnelly, Cúm an tSleamhcáin. 
  • Michael Clifford





 Player of the Year Awards

  • 1998 - Michael Donnelly.
  • 1999 - Paul O Sullivan.
  • 2000 - Gearoid Moran. 
  • 2001 - David Breen and John O Shea.
  • 2002 - Paul O Sullivan.
  • 2003 - John Moran.
  • 2004 - David Fenton.
  • 2005 - Jason Quinlan
  • 2006 - Raymond Gleeson.
  • 2007 - Muiris Rayel
  • 2008 - Aidrian O'Sullivan
  • 2009 - Donal Galvin







Scór: The Club has a strong Scór tradition and has reached Munster Finals in the Novelty Act catagory on more than one occasion with plays 'A Perfect Match' and 'Grave Error'.



Kerry v Cork in 2000


In the year 2000 there was a charity game held in Derrynane between old rivals Cork and Kerry. This game was part of a fund raising project to build a Family Accommodation unit in St Annes Hostital, Cahersiveen. The game was organised by Barry Coffey, former Cork footballer, All-Ireland medallist and no stranger to the area. There were a host of All-Ireland medallists playing on the day as old adversaries faced each other again. It represented a great day for the club as up to 3000 supporters came to watch the game of legends. It was played in conjunction with a triathalon that was held that summer, also ran by the Coffey family. Barry Coffey was the guest of honour at the Club Social that year in recognition of this day.


AGM 2010

Officers for 2010 season

  • Chairman: Patrick Donoghue
  • Vice Chairman: Kevin O Sullivan
  • Secretary: David A Breen
  • Vice Secretary: John O'Connor
  • Treasurer: Michael Donnelly
  • Assistant Treasurer: Eddie O Donoghue
  • PRO: 
  • Assistant PRO: Joe Corridan
  • Scór Officer: Bida O'Sullivan and Colette O Donoghue.
  • Co. Bord Delegate: Michael Donnelly
  • SK Bord Delegates: Kevin O Sullivan and Murise Carey
  • Referees: Ger MacGillicuddy and Paul MacGillicuddy
  • Development Officer: 
  • Executive Members: James White, Dan Galvin, John O Leary, Paul MacGillicuddy, Ger MacGillicuddy, Eddie Carey, Tony O Shea, Kevin O Farrell and Tom Corridan



There have been many generous sponsorers of playing jerseys to the club including:

  • Imperial Hotel, Cork.
  • Comharcumann Naomh Fhionáin Teo.
  • An Piobaire Dall, The Blind Piper, Caherdaniel.
  • Freddies Bar, Caherdaniel.
  • O Carrolls Cove, Glenbeg.
  • The Derrynane Hotel.




Thanking these local people for their continued support.